Michigan Democrats take Aim at the Electoral College

Mar 06, 2023

Last week the Michigan Democrats introduced HB4156 and SB126, sister bills promoting the National Popular Vote Scheme that would effectively ABOLISH the Electoral College in Michigan. As KeepOur50States.org states: “A very well-funded political movement based in Northern California which started in 2004 has convinced 15 State Legislatures, plus DC, so far to USURP this role and responsibility which our States have had since 1788.

Following the Electoral College loss of Al Gore to George W Bush in 2000, three liberal law school professors devised a scheme to manipulate the Electoral College to force it to rubber stamp a "national" popular vote tally result.  They were able to attract Leftist financier and scratch-off lottery ticket inventor, John Koza, to invest many millions of dollars to turn their NPV idea into the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact scheme. 

They understand that they cannot get a Constitutional Amendment proposed, nor ratified by the required 38 States, so they are doing an End Run around the Constitution by using a simple Contract of Collusion. This effort must be stopped to protect the Checks and Balances designed into our Federation by the Constitution.”

The Electoral College encourages diversity and coalition-building, creating a framework that encourages presidential candidates to campaign in both larger cities and rural towns, and appeal to many different demographics. The NPV scheme would mean that candidates funnel all time and resources to only the largest cities, and appeal only to city-dwelling demographics year after year.

If these bills pass, Michigan would be handing over their votes and voice to California and New York.

What can you do to help?

Please email or call each member of the House Elections Committee TODAY and ask that they preserve the voice of Michigan voters vote NO on approving HB4156. Please see below for a full list of the members of this committee. You may also attend the hearing in Lansing Tuesday, March 7 at 10:30 am, Room 327 House Office Building and give a 3 minute comment.

Penelope Tsernoglour (Chair)  D

[email protected]

Phone: (517) 373-2668


Dyln Wegela (Majority Vice Chair)  D

[email protected]

Phone: (517) 373-3818


Gregory Markkanen (Minority Vice Chair)  R

[email protected]

Phone: (517) 373-0850


Kara Hope  R

[email protected]

Phone: (517) 373-8900


Matt Koleszar   D

[email protected]

Phone: (517) 373-0854


Erin Byrnes   D

[email protected]

Phone: (517) 373-0847


Jaime Churches   D

[email protected]

Phone: (517) 373-0478


Rachelle Smit    R

[email protected]

Phone (517) 373-0615